Tag Archives: admission

Online counselling for admission in IITs goes on

counseling 2012Counselling for admission to 15 IITs and IT-BHU and ISM-Dhanbad is underway these days and the students who cracked the JEE-2012 are participating in it. The counselling website had been opened for the shortlisted candidates from May 18, giving them a chance to fill their choice of courses. The online counselling would go on till 5pm on June 10. The candidates have not been asked to report in person for counselling.

All candidates with physical disability will have to report in person at the counselling institutes for a checkup before a specially constituted medical board. The IITs have asked such candidates to register for medical examination and chose the IIT where they wish to be examined.

For the convenience of such candidates, medical boards are constituted at IIT-Kanpur, IIT-Kharagpur, IIT-Bombay, IIT-Delhi, IIT-Guwahati and IIT-Madras.

The web release of the first seat allotment will be made on June 14. Seats not accepted in the first round will be allotted on AIR basis. The second seat round of allotment will be released on June 25. The third and the final round of allotment will be done on July 6.

For the first time, the candidates were given an opportunity to withdraw the accepted seat before the final round of seat allotment.

This year, 4,79,651 candidates had appeared in both the papers of IIT-JEE which was conducted by seven IITs on April 8. Out of the total number of candidates, 24,112 have secured ranks in various categories and 17,462 have been shortlisted for counselling for admission to 9,647 seats in 15 IITs and IT-BHU and ISM- Dhanbad.

Nishit Agrawal of IIT-Bombay zone bagged AIR 6 and topped his zone, Arpit Agrawal secured AIR 1 and emerged as the topper. Rohit Kumar and Shubham Chandak of IIT-Guwahati and IIT-Kanpur zone topped their zones. Rohit secured AIR 79 and Shubham bagged AIR 15.

The toppers of IIT-Kharagpur and IIT-Madras zone were Nishanth N Koushik with AIR 3 and Rumandla Nishanth with AIR 4.

Bijoy Singh Kochar of IIT-Roorkee zone topped his zone and bagged AIR 2 in JEE-2012.

In the categories, Rumandla Nishanth topped the OBC category. Zubin Arya, a resident of Kanpur topped the SC category in the country. Vikas Meena (AIR 642) and Khushboo Gupta (AIR 239) topped the ST and PD categories respectively.

In the OBC and SC categories, 4805 and 3464 candidates have been shortlisted for counselling. In SC and PD categories, 1,112 and 167 candidates have been shortlisted for counselling.

[This article was originally published on Times of India.]